Tuesday, 18 February 2014

CD RELEASE: Fantasien by Sivan Magen

Fantasien by Sivan Magen
SACD Album released 10th February 2014

Recorded at the famous Yehudi Menuhin School in Surrey "Fantasien" is a showcase of the modern concert harp demonstrating the powerful expression, dynamic range and sheer excitement this popular instrument can generate in the right hands. Featuring transcriptions of works by J.S. Bach, C.P.E. Bach, Mozart and Brahms plus original harp compositions by Henriette Rénie and Ekaterina Walter-Kühne, ‘Fantasien’ is united by the theme of fantasy.

Audio clips & more info at Creighton's Collection

‘Magen had a formidable technique, a lovely sense of color, and masterful musicianship.’ 
Boston Music Intelligencer

Track listing:

1. Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach: Fantasie in E-flat Major, H. 277, Wq. 58/6
2. Johannes Brahms: 7 Fantasien, Op. 116 - No. 2 Intermezzo in A minor
3. Johannes Brahms: 7 Fantasien, Op. 116 - No. 4 Intermezzo in E Major
4. Johannes Brahms: 3 Intermezzi, Op. 117 - No. 1 in E flat Major
5. Johannes Brahms: 3 Intermezzi, Op. 117 - No. 2 in B flat minor
6. Ekaterina Walter-Kühne: Fantasie on Tchaikovsky’s Eugene Onegin
7. Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Fantasie in D minor, K. 397
8. Johann Sebastian Bach: Chromatische Fantasie in D minor, BWV. 903
9. Henriette Renié: Ballade fantastique d'après Le Coeur révélateur d'Edgar Poe 

Sunday, 9 February 2014

New Harp Publication: Origami by Athy

For Electric Lever Harp in Eb, Pedal Harp or Piano
by Athy

"Dedicated to the victims of the terrible tsunami that hit Japan in 2011, this piece represents first, the Japanese woman, secondly, the Japanese man, and thirdly, it's beloved people's resurrection, represented by their symbol of hope the crane...made in origami. This final, heavily rhythmic part invites us to both remember each life lost in this catastrophic event, and turn from that pain and toward the power of the art and music." Athy 

View more info at www.creightonscollection.co.uk 

New Harp Publication: Entwined Hearts by Athy

Du'n Geimhin - Entwined Hearts
for Lever Harp, Pedal Harp or Piano
by Athy

Entwined Hearts - Starting as a free air, with some melody "guidelines" the music develops into two rhythmical dances. The first dance was written after performing in Ireland and the second, inspired by Celtic traditions was written for the Celtica 2011 festival in Italy.

View more info at www.creightonscollection.co.uk