Thursday, 28 November 2013

CD RELEASE: Christmas Lights - Máire Ní Chathasaigh (harp) & Chris Newman (guitar)

Christmas Lights - Máire Ní Chathasaigh (harp) & Chris Newman (guitar)
Released 2 December 2013

In December 2012 we were wondering what to do about Christmas cards as the cost of postage in the UK had recently increased by an enormous amount. We had the bright idea of sending a musical Christmas greeting, instead of a physical card, to everyone on our database so spent the evening of December 13th in the studio recording an extremely light-hearted version of Ding Dong Merrily on High. The following day we emailed a hyperlink to everyone we knew, and by December 26th, when we removed the track from the website, it had been downloaded over 6000 times. We received lots of comments along the lines of "When's the rest of the album coming out?" Well, this is it, and we hope you enjoy it!

Buy this album now    CD: £12.50 + p&p  

Track Listing

1) The Holly and the Ivy 3:09
2) Three Ships from Sussex 3:14
3) God Rest ye Merry Gentlemen 3:01
4) Campana Sobre Campana (Bells upon Bells) 3:25
5) O Come all ye Faithful 2:32
6) Past Three O’Clock 2:33
7) O Little Town of Bethlehem 3:28
8) The Coventry Carol 3:39
9) Away in a Manger 3:38
10) Il est né le Divin Enfant 3:07
11) We Three Kings 3:25
12) Once in Royal David’s City 2:32
13) Do'n Oíche Úd i mBeithil (To That Night in Bethlehem) 2:50
14) The First Tree in the Greenwood 3:08
15) Infant Holy, Infant Lowly 3:20
16) Ding Dong Merrily on High 3:35

CD RELEASE: Cerdd Dannau by Gwenan Gibbard

Cerdd Dannau by Gwenan Gibbard

Cerdd dant is essentially the unique and ancient art of singing poetry to harp accompaniment. Its origins date back to the earliest centuries, when the harper would declaim his poetry to his own accompaniment, in praise of his chief or prince. In Wales there has always been a special relationship between music and poetry: there are many references to singing poetry to the accompaniment of the harp in Welsh manuscripts from the middle ages on wards, and this tradition continues to this day.

Buy this album now    CD: £12.98 + p&p 

Track Listing

01. Nei Di Ganu ’Nghân? 
02. Noson Aflawen - With Cerys Matthews 
03. Pen Draw Llyn 
04. Calon Drom 
05. A Glywi Di? 
06. Nid yw Cariad yn Ddall 
07. Glan Môr Heli 
08. Rowndio’r Horn - With Meinir Gwilym 
09. Mae’r Ddaear yn Glasu 
10. Bro 
11. Traeth Lafan / Adlais Nia / Pen Rhaw 
12. Arglwydd Iesu, Dysg im Gerdded 
13. Dau a Dwy 
14. Rhwng Pen y Cei a Phen yr Allt

Albums - click cover for details
Click for detailsClick for detailsClick for details  
Y Gwenith
Sidan GlasCerdd Dannau  

Thursday, 21 November 2013

NEW HARP SOLO: Varikset Yössä by Athy

Varikset Yössä 
Cuervos en la noche - Ravens at Night 

Imagine a cemetery lost in a dark forest on a cold night ... in the immense sky hundreds of black ravens are flying over the tombs. Suddenly the moon turns red, red as blood ... the ravens are flying above it in enchanting circles ... the silence of the night fails with a sudden noise from one of the crypts nestling in this erie gothic landscape .... the scence is set for Athy's latest romantic rhapsody a tale of a love stronger than death! 

For (electric) lever harp in Eb or Pedal harp 

For further information at click here or

Buy this music now: £12.00 + p&p

Also by Athy

Sheet Music - printed & distributed by Creighton's Collection
click score covers for further details
Music for Electric Lever Harp (or Lever /Pedal Harp)
Click for details Click for details Click for details Click for details Click for details
Seres del Fuego Dulce Bretaña Cuchuflo's
a Tango