Thursday, 12 January 2017

New CD & Launch Gig: 1 Man Band

1 Man Band by Ben Creighton Griffiths
CD Release date 4th February 2017

1 Man Band, is a varied recording of Ben's work. It contains a mix of styles and genres, acoustic and electronic music, and well known tunes and new original music. It features solo harp, solo piano, and mixed tracks as well as one duet (The Station) with percussionist Matthew Williams. Recorded at Acapela Studios in the summer of 2016 and mastered by Reel Time Studios, 1 Man Band is an exciting and fresh approach to the idea of Harp, Jazz, and Jazz Harp.

1 Man Band - CD Launch Concert

8.00pm Saturday 4 February 2017
Acapela Studio Pentyrch, Cardiff, CF15 9QD

Box Office - Tel: 08448 700887 
click to buy tickets on line at Ticket Source

Tracks on the CD
1. Caravan - Ellington/Mills/Tizol  
2. You've Got a Friend In Me - Randy Newman  
3. Maiden Voyage - Herbie Hancock  
4. Turn Out The Stars - Bill Evans  
5. Time On My Hands - Gordon/Adamson/Youmans  
6. A Night In Tunisia - Gillespie/Paparelli  
7. Morning - Clare Fischer  
8. The Station - Creighton Griffiths/Williams

You can pre-order the CD from Creighton's Collection

From the CD notes:

For this recording I was not aiming to make a Harp CD, a Jazz CD, or even a Jazz Harp CD instead 1 Man Band is a snap shot of where I am at this point in my development as a musician - a showcase of what I'm enjoying doing at this moment in time.

The beauty of the Creative Industry is that everything is constantly under review and development, my music changing as I change and mature as a musician. For this project I've taken blends of some genres that I love (like Gypsy Jazz, Reggae, and Funk) utilised both electronic and acoustic music, and included a variety of different tones and timbres reflecting the live music I perform on a regular basis. I have also, for the first time in my life, prepared solo piano works for public performance, one of which is recorded on this CD. One aim of these recent developments is to create a variety in my performances that goes beyond that which is possible for me as a soloist on a single instrument.

Going forwards I have many ideas that require further experimentation and refinement. Continual development of my solo harp playing is of huge importance, as is the advancement of my work with electronics, both with the harp and with synths & keys. Following on from the solo piano work undertaken for this project I also want to develop my piano playing further, particularly in the more traditional jazz styles.

Perhaps the most important pointer for the future demonstrated on this recording is 'The Station'. While this track truly belongs to another project that is currently in the works I wanted to provide it as a preview. My great friend Matthew Williams and I have created a group called Chube – rather than being a regular band our aim is to be the nucleus of a group of like minded musicians writing, arranging, and recording tracks together. This group based work is something that I feel will give me more opportunities as a composer as well as a performer and we look forward to developing the project during 2017.

No comments:

Post a Comment